Coin Curiosity

Researching the history coins of the British Commonwealth

Home > British West Africa

Articles under category British West Africa

British West Africa comprised Sierra Leone, Gambia, Ghana and parts of Nigeria. The British West African pound began circulating in 1907 but it wasn't until 1913 that the full set of denominations began circulating. It circulated until the 1950s when it was replaced the currencies of the newly separated constituent countries.