Coin Curiosity

Researching the history coins of the British Commonwealth

Home > 1897 London Sovereign

1897 London Sovereign

Posted on

The Royal Mint struck sovereigns in most years from 1817 to 1917 so it is unusual that none were struck in London in 1897. The Royal Mint's annual report of 1897 highlights this - although 42,060 sovereigns were issued in 1897, they were all dated 1896 and were from the previous year's unissued stock. It was expected that Queen Victoria's golden jubilee may have increased demand for sovereigns but such a reality did not eventuate (p7, Twenty-Eighth Annual Report of The Deputy Master and Comptroller of the Mint, 1897., 1898), and instead the Sydney and Melbourne Mints were the only mints that struck 1897-dated sovereigns.