Coin Curiosity

Researching the history coins of the British Commonwealth

Home > Sovereign

Articles with tag Sovereign

The British gold sovereign was first struck in 1817 at the Royal Mint, London. It was also struck at the Sydney Mint, the Melbourne Mint, the Perth Mint, the Ottawa Mint, the Bombay Mint and the Pretoria Mint over the years. Today the sovereign continues to be struck as a bullion coin.