Coin Curiosity

Researching the history coins of the British Commonwealth

Home > New Delhi Sovereigns 2013-2015

New Delhi Sovereigns 2013-2015

Posted on

During the era of circulating gold coins, sovereigns were struck in India in one year - 1918. In 2013 the Royal Mint partnered with MMTC PAMP to produce non-circulating bullion sovereigns, primarily for the Indian market. The reverse of the sovereigns showed St George slaying the dragon as on traditional sovereigns, and like the 1918 Bombay-struck sovereigns, they bore an I mintmark above the date. From 2013-2015 they were struck with the Ian Rank-Broadley portrait of Queen Elizabeth II. Although they are commonly referred to as New Delhi sovereigns, they were not actually struck in New Delhi.

New Delhi sovereign mintages 2013-2015

The 2013 sovereign was meant to have an initial mintage of just 50,000 but clearly proved to be a popular issue as nearly 45,000 more were struck (

The 2015I sovereigns were the last Indian sovereigns to be struck with the Ian Rank-Broadley portrait of Queen Elizabeth II - from 2016 onwards they were struck using the new Jody Clark obverse portrait.